The Alphabet

C is for Changes

Change. One of those things that is hated by some, and loved by others.

I tend to be one of those people who doesn’t particularly care for change. At least when it comes to my own personal life. I enjoy having things done a certain way, organized in a particular order, and having some type of routine down for my every day life. It’s easy, it’s comfortable. I know what to expect and what to plan for, ya know like 90% of the time anyway.

Of course we can experience a wide variety of changes throughout our lives. Some changes are small and easier to adjust to. Others can be along the lines of painful to amazing.

Now, just because I don’t particularly care for change, doesn’t mean that we haven’t met a time or two. I’ve lived through all types: Moving to a new high school my sophomore year, growing apart from friends, making boyfriends, breaking up with boyfriends, getting new jobs, graduating, moving out alone for the first time ever, losing my Dad, and living through a spinal back break that could have killed me…yep. check please..I’m good on change…at least for a year or two.

We are in constant states of change. it may not always be us changing, but there are things changing all around us. You learn to adapt, or you die..kinda..It’s just really hard if you can’t allow yourself to adjust.

The thing about change is, that if things never change, they can never get better or worse. Life will just continually stay the same, and then it becomes comfortable at this point. A routine starts to develop. Things fall into a habitual order and life just carries on easily day in and day out as though you were breathing.

I’ve been there. Wake up, shower, drive to work, work, drive home, decompress, eat dinner, work out, shower, sleep. Day after day.

And don’t get me wrong. Life was great. I have nothing bad to say about maintaining a routine and getting comfortable in your lifestyle. But you can’t be so ridged to not allow any changes from occurring.

I moved from my small and perfect, comfortable, little ball of Minnesota, and plopped my butt down in the middle of California.

Talk about a choice that resulted in change… I didn’t have to, but I made the decision and allowed myself to go with the changes that have since started occurring.

I have moved before. A few times actually. But this was an entirely different ball game. I don’t know if I have ever struggled so hard in my life. Being away from my family, my friends, everything I knew and loved and had grown so incredibly accustomed to, it’s gone. And here I am in this new crowded city with only one person to go to if anything is wrong. And I’m not complaining about that. I’m very happy with the choice I made, but it didn’t come without a price.

I believe we need change in our lives. If nothing ever changes, than nothing can ever get better, or progress, or improve. If nothing ever changes we will forever be sitting in a constant stagnant state, and even though many of us may not want to welcome it into our lives. I don’t think we can continue to grow and become better if we don’t accept change into our lives.

Change keeps us going. It keeps us moving forward. And we have to keep putting one foot in front of the other and learn to adapt to whatever life wants to throw in front of us. These changes will bring on so many different types of life altering experiences and memories for you to hang on to throughout your life.

I’ve seemed to have changed myself. Because now I for one, can’t wait to see how far I go, and how things evolve in the years that come.

Change is good.

Accept the change.

Don’t be afraid of change.

❤ truly,

Lindsey Grace

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “C is for Changes

Leave a Reply

