stream of consciousness

Sick and Stuck on the Couch

We have all been there. That little rumble in your tummy turns into a really wicked bug. The next thing you know, you’re breathing gets labored, you get warm, your mouth starts to water uncontrollably (fun fact, when you do start noticing the saliva increasing more in your mouth you have about 20-45 seconds to get yourself to a bucket or toilet or reciprocal of some sort before you vomit. The saliva is actually preparing your mouth to protect it from the acids in your stomach when they come up.)

And why is it that the second we are hugging the porcelain god the first thing you want is your mom? Moms always make you feel better when you’re sick.

I’m sick.

And the first thing I wanted was my mommy.

I’m almost 30.

I’ll mention this in anther blog in more detail but I moved away from my home this year to live with my boyfriend out in California. We’re going on 2 years together and the first year was spent entirely long distance with a few trips here and there. So now here we are, living together and getting to actually see each other every day. Even on our bad days.

He’s seen me in rough shape before after I had back surgery. But last night was a whole new ball park. I’ve never actually been sick in front of him. But there I was, with my head hovering over the garbage can, sweating, messy hair, icky things coming up from my belly, tears, snot, it draws a very lovely picture doesn’t it!?

I’m sure most relationships have this moment. At least the ones that grow into the serious relationships. However, as gross as I was last night, and as difficult as it was for me to allow myself to be ‘ugly sick’ in front of him, he was so amazing. He was there with cold wash rags, water, crackers, OJ, all throughout the night and into the morning.

I’m just very thankful and wanted to express that. I’m truly lucky to have him in my life and it’s moments like this that just reassure me that I made the right decision to move all the way out here to be with him. There’ve been plenty of bumps, but everyday, at the end of the day, I’m happy to be here and with him. And I’m happy he’s willing to be here with me even through my worst moments.

I’m kind of just blabbing now at this point. Time to drink some more water and take a nap I think.

Count your blessings today. Find at least one person in your life you’re thankful for. Do something special for them. 🙂

Have a nice day everyone.

❤ truly,

Lindsey Grace

 

Leave a Reply

