stream of consciousness

The Need To Create

The last few weeks I have been feeling suffocated by the urge to put my hands to work and create something. Anything. Just turn a gathering of elements into something structured.

I love writing, but because everything is generally done electronically now, I never actually see a physical growth or change in the amount that I write. Although I know I need to stick with it and make it a consistent thing.

So the last couple weeks I dived back into crafts where I could actually see my idea take shape right in front of me. It felt good, and I feel like I came up with some nice looking designs and then a little light bulb went off in my head.

I had set this new years resolution to open my own little Etsy store and I think I finally found something I can create and sell. I’m really excited about it and even if I don’t sell anything I’m not going to stop creating them. I actually have some pretty fun ideas for some really creative things!

I have also found it to be very therapeutic as I have been struggling a little bit the last week or two. I can melt my stress away by squishing and rolling clay dough around in the palms of my hands and smooshing that ball in between a glass drinking cup and my desk….I lose time drawing, shaping, and creating tiny details into each piece. Not one will ever be exactly like the other. Which in a way makes it feel special. You have something that NO ONE else will ever have.

It’s individualistic.  That’s rare these days. And it’s refreshing to find it.

I hope those of your who stumble upon this follow me on this journey. It’s a big thing for me to put myself out there like this, especially with something I have designed myself. But I have a lot of ideas for things that I think can bring a smile to peoples faces and a little more organization and help to peoples lives.

Not only are there going to be fun little ring and trinket holders but there’s also vintage jewelry that I’ve stumbled upon and have either cleaned up a bit, or completely redesigned into new pieces.

I’m excited to try this out. In the end working on this stuff makes me feel better, especially since I’ve been laid up with some annoying back issues.

Well, this was really just a random stream of conscious kind of post to get me back into the groove of everything while updating you on where I’ve been and what’s going on!

I’ll be posting some things about the upcoming store so keep an eye out for that!

In the meantime you can check out the stores new Instagram page! Open Mind Creations. Hope you’ll follow along!

❤ LGR

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

